Step By Step Vegetarian

So, I read Skinny Bitch, finally. Damn those ladies know how to make you feel like a fatass. Long story short, this former model (with a Masters in holistic nutrition) and former model agent are promoting a vegan diet, largely on the grounds of improved health and vitality. Yes they talk about the ethical treatment of animals. But more importantly, they talk about why eating meat and dairy are just plain bad for you.

It’s not as much about the ethical issues, it’s more about all the shitty chemicals that the U.S. government allows us to ingest on a daily basis (fuck the USDA, just sayin’). When I was in high school I had to read Silent Spring, and the only thing that I gathered (or at least distinctly remembered) was the concept of biomagnification, whereby chemical pesticides increase in concentration as they travel through the food chain. Now, I don’t know another single thing about biology, but the concept totally makes sense to me. If a cow eats contaminated corn and then we eat the cow’s meat, the pesticide stays in the meat, traveling through our bodies and damaging our cells, organs, and neurons.

I’m not going to keep going on about all of that, but let’s just say that I’m gonna try this whole eating healthier thing. And by healthier I mean no meat. I’m not ready for the no dairy yet. Besides, that big of a jump from omnivore to vegan would be a bit of a shock to my system. And by “a bit” I mean “completely disastrous.” As soon as I clear out all the meat I’ve already bought (1lb ground beef, 3 cans of tuna, 1/2 pack of deli turkey), I will do my best to dedicate myself to being a vegetarian.

So why post about this? I don’t know… I haven’t had anything better to write about lately? I’m going to chronicle this whole (likely) slightly painful and stressful transition. So step one? I plan on writing about all the stupid meaty cravings I have. You ready? ‘Cause this might get boring. It might get silly. It might get a little self-serving and ridiculous. Wanna hear my plan? Make the whole thing as honest as possible, just for you, my lovely readers. Real talk. Because let’s be frank, trying to become a vegetarian and convincing people you’re not a pretentious jerk is going to be a feat of hilarity, if nothing else.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Congrats on the new lifestyle choice! I would love to read about your journey through vegetarianism! ^_^ If you ever need any recommendations, feel free to ask. Best wishes!
    -Chelsea

    Reply
    • Thanks! Do you have any tips right off the bat? Something you wish someone would have told you before you decided to stop eating meat?

      Reply
      • Jules 1310 totally nailed it: The most difficult (and patience-testing) aspect of vegetarianism/ veganism is the constant vocalization of criticism/ worry from those who love you. They mean well, but sometimes it feels as though your lifestyle choice personally affects them moreso than you at some points 😛 I learned that radiating the new energy and inner bliss gained from the new diet is all the convincing necessary to ease any confrontation or debates that sometimes arise.
        Also, here’s a wonderful website for new recipes! Have fun and don’t be afraid to experiment with new foods! Quinoa, kale, and nutritional yeast became my kitchen homies after becoming vegan/ vegetarian ;D
        http://vegweb.com/

  2. Awesome post, and I can’t wait to read more as you head along the vegetarian path! Probably the best bit of advice I can give is don’t worry about what other people are saying to you, the moment I turned vegetarian (and I’m now vegan) everybody and their dog became an expert on health, saying how ill I would get and all the rest. To put it bluntly, they’re just wrong; I haven’t felt this good in my life. The other thing is that it’s ridiculously easy. After about a month I totally forgot about meat, and didn’t miss it at all. Good luck!

    Reply
  3. Impybat

     /  August 25, 2012

    I keep going veggie on and off. My husband (surprisingly!) is more dedicated to it than I am…I keep backslidin’ with ice cream. But I love what jules1310 said, it is so true. I was vegan for a while a few years ago, and the unhealthiest people I know suddenly became the nutrition experts. you just can’t take them seriously when they’ve got a beer in one hand and a steak in the other and they’re preaching about where you’ll get your protein. Anyways, quinoa and chickpeas are now two of my best friends. Good luck with everything! Stick with it!

    Reply
  4. dizzywestsidegirl

     /  August 25, 2012

    I cut out all the junk, soda, fatty foods out of my diet because of a spike in my cholesterol but added fruits and a bit of veggies, believe it or not when you eat better and healthier you don’t crave the foods that you used to consume because you’re more aware of what is good/bad. I started this plan about 4 months ago and have lost 15 lbs. I look better and feel great– and so will you.

    Reply
  5. Yeah, it’s not as bad as it used to be, but people have some strange attitudes about vegetarianism–everything from how unhealthy it is to how difficult we are to accomodate. Be careful at restaurants, where things that you’d think are vegetarian often aren’t. I’ve become a little less strict over the years out of laziness, but I was pretty unhappy to find prime rib in my breakfast potatoes at a buffet recently because I hadn’t read the little card. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

