For The Next 30 Days I Don’t Exist

This year, 2012, the year in which the world is supposedly scheduled to end (or when the greatest Mayan emperor is supposed to be reincarnated and make the world a much awesomer place, but I suppose that’s just a matter of translation) and I’ve decided to take part in NaNoWriMo. I’m sure you all know what I’m talking about – that stressful race to finish a novel of at least 50,000 words before December 1st so that you can pat yourself on the back and say, “Hey I just stressed myself the fuck out for 30 days for no good reason!”

Actually, I’m being a bit overdramatic (not about the stressed out part, because I know that’s a cold, hard fact), because I do think NaNoWriMo is a valuable exercise for anyone interested in writing for pleasure or profit. NaNo tells its participants, “I don’t care if you don’t want to publish anything, I don’t care if you think your writing is bad, I don’t care about your sleep schedule, your feelings, or your nutrition, JUST DO IT AND DO IT FAST.” There’s this habit that a lot of people who like to write have of writing so slowly, editing as they go, believing that they can write a publishable piece in a first draft. November allows us to try to break that habit. No editing, no in-depth contemplation of thesauruses, no agonizing over whether you should use “breathed” or “whispered.”

The novel I’m planning has a working title of Scalebrand and it’s about dragons. And magic. And lots of fantasy themes and whatnots. If you want to see/read more about it, here’s my profile.

So every day I need to write 1,667 words to get to 50,010 before 00:00 December 1st. That’s about 7 double spaced pages a day. That’s daunting! So far, I have 1,637 words. Now, you’d think that was great, except for the fact that I wrote those 1,637 words over the last year, not the last 12 hours. I shouldn’t even count them because I feel like it would be cheating… Nope, my moral standards don’t apply here, anything to get me to 50,000.

Oh and did I mention most of my grad school applications are due December 1st? Yeah…

Now where the hell did I put my coffee?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I got your back, roomie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

