Soy Chorizo Quesadillas

That’s precisely what I’m eating right now. Trader Joe’s has this amazing soy chorizo that’s not really spicy, but has a great flavor and the proper amount of greasiness to keep my dastardly lovehandles happy. Fake meat doesn’t really appeal to me (something I’ll address in a bit), but this stuff is damn good. That, plus organic Mexi-blend cheese (also from Trader Joe’s) and processed-as-shit Food Lion flour tortillas, and my lunch is just a big ‘ole confused mess of trying and failing to be healthy.

It’s been two solid weeks in which I have consumed no meat. It would have been longer than that, but I ate a bite of hamburger at my friend’s house when he made it for me, forgetting the recent vegetarian shift. I didn’t want to be rude after all, but then I started feeling sick, so I gave up on it. I’ve been eating black bean burgers to get rid of my gooey cheeseburger cravings, avoiding Qdoba and Chipotle like the plague, and not even glancing at (and therefore pining over) delicious, non-nutritious boneless buffalo wings. If there’s one thing I miss the most, it’s boneless Thursdays at Buffalo Wild Wings

Speaking of chicken, and regarding fake meat, I recently attended a Senior Etiquette Dinner hosted by the career center at my school. We were served a five-course meal, consisting of soup, pasta, entrée, salad, and dessert, and were taught how to properly eat each of these foods. It was definitely fun and worth the $10 I paid to go, even if the food was cold and the portions were ridiculously tiny. Anyway, they had a vegetarian option for the entrée, which was parmesan-crusted chicken with a tomato basil sauce and green beans. The other vegetarian at the table and I were hoping that our course would be something awesome, like eggplant parm, or something similar. Alas, we were served vegan chicken cutlets, as thin, tough, and tasty as cardboard. I was not a fan, and likely will not be eating fake chicken again anytime soon.

Another fun story of vegetarian excursions, last night at the bars, my tipsy sisters demanded cheese fries with bacon, but I was able to convince them to get it on the side. Did I feel like a burden? Yes. Did they give two shits about bacon on the side? Nope.

As many times as I’m told by friends that it’s really no big deal if I need something on the side, I still kind of feel like an inconvenience. It’s really unfortunate that our society has turned an intimately personal choice, such as what kind of food we eat, into something people (like me) feel guilty for. This stereotype of the demanding, over-bearing, holier-than-thou vegetarian/vegan is perpetuated as much by anti-meat organizations, such as PETA, as it is by critics. I’m not a big fan of PETA, never really have been. I feel that they present themselves in a way that ostracizes and demonizes their audience, which I don’t think is at all effective. PETA provides great educational materials, but some of their campaigns are too over-the-top to have real impact. It’s like the “This is your brain, this is your brain on drugs” PSA with the frying egg (or this even more intense one). It’s just too outlandish to be taken seriously.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m absolutely not against PETA, I just think some of their marketing tactics don’t work and actually have a very negative impact on their image as a legitimate organization with a serious and important cause.

Whatever, as long as PETA’s strategies keep producing images like the one on the left, I’m game. (Yes they are both fake).

Even though it’s a fake.

Also fake =(

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Enjoyed your post! When I became a vegetarian (which was offical back in May), I missed my chicken wings oh so much. I love them dearly. I still pine for them. I’m missing them right now. So sorry you were served vegan cutlets at your dinner. They were probably the frozen store bought kind! You’ll run into some difficulties in certain situation, and you’ll have to decide what to do. For example, when I travel out of the country I’ll eat what makes sense and looks good (I go to some far out places sometimes) which could be meat. But at home, vegetarian. Hang in there. It’s worth it!

    Reply
    • I’ve never traveled abroad unfortunately, but I really look forward to it one day and there’s no way I’d pass up the cultural experience of tasting new foods. It’s funny that vegetarianism is really a very American movement. Thanks for the support!

      Reply
  2. I know that this is an old article but I feel the need to point out that those two photos are photoshopped and I’m pretty positive that Jensen Ackles has never posed for any PETA photoshoots.

    Reply
    • WHOOPS! Yes, you’re right, I knew the first one was fake (note the caption), but I realized the second one was fake later and never changed the caption for that one. Thanks for pointing it out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

