An Open Letter to Privileged College Students

Dear Sir or Madam (as I’m sure you’re wont to be called),

No one wants to hear about your Spring Break trip to the Outer Banks that will cost at most, at most, some exorbitant amount that doesn’t even include eating or getting trashed. No one wants to hear about your ‘Stang, or your ‘Vette, or any other over priced car your parents bought to replace the last one you totaled. No one wants to deal with your complaints about your brand new Macbook that you fucked up because of too much downloading from Pirate Bay – when you could have just bought the music yourself. And NO ONE wants to hear about your summer in Cape Cod or the Hamptons or the Bahamas, or the Caymans, because you’re only telling us about it so you can compete with your fellow rich-ass friends.

You aren’t smarter than us.

You aren’t better than us.

You make us feel uncomfortable.

And, most importantly, you make us regret being friends with you.

Sincerely,

A Fed-Up Peon

I don’t like privileged students. And by that I mean those who act like they deserve all that they receive from their parents, that they deserve good grades and letters of recommendation, and that everyone else should just respect them out of principle.

I was sitting in the library café today, not doing work unfortunately, and overheard a couple talking in loud voices about their future spring break trip. The conversation went something like this:

Girl: “I’m broke”

Boy: “Oh, well it shouldn’t cost more than $400 at most. And then we can just go out to eat all week. I think last year I spent $300 on eating out.”

Girl: “That sounds reasonable.”

Reasonable. Girl, you don’t know what it means to be broke. I’m sorry, I have friends who don’t make $700 in a month. And they aren’t even factoring in the cost of alcohol I’m sure they’ll be imbibing. At least they factored the cost of gas into the $400. And before you ask, yes, the $400 was for each person. I’ve never spent more than $300 on a week-long vacation with a group of sorority sisters, and that was all-inclusive (house, food, gas, etc.).

I work two part-time jobs (three if you including modeling every once in a while) and I still don’t have the money to pay off my credit card bill. I pay my sorority dues myself (a couple hundred dollars a semester), I pay for my food ($100 a month, at least), gas (don’t even get me started), and any other expenses I might have. It astounds me that there can be so many students on my campus that simply have no concept of how money works, whether they’re econ majors or not! Some of them have college loans they’ll have to deal with later, I’m sure, but they don’t have jobs, they blow all their money on Natty Light, then Aderall when they can’t get their work done on time.

My school expenses are covered, thankfully. I have generous parents, and apparently a good lawyer when I was an infant. My undergraduate was paid for by an insurance settlement. I’d say “thank god,” but I think it would be in bad taste, given why I got a settlement. But that’s a topic for another day. But I would never, ever, feel like I was privileged in some way, or that I deserved to be able to spend money however I felt like just because my school was covered.

I know I’m overgeneralizing, but honestly I don’t care. All in all, people need to get over themselves. Bad moods make for bad blog posts.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Don

     /  November 20, 2012

    Muse:

    I cannot agree more. for I worked at least 2 jobs duing my undergraduate degree and one fulltime during my masters. In addition, I still have school loans.

    With so many parents complaining about high tuition, why not let the kids pay so they can learn something.

    Don

    Reply
  2. Tom

     /  November 21, 2012

    I’m a little confused. If people want to talk to each other about their plans/experiences, where’s the harm? I don’t particularly enjoy hearing people talk about things I find trite/obnoxious, but it’s never occurred to me that “nobody cares.” Of course somebody cares, they’re having a conversation about it. It just so happens that I don’t care, which is why I’m not part of the conversation.

    Reply
    • The issue isn’t so much the conversation that I overheard. It’s more the experiences I’ve had with people pushing their reality onto others, assuming that they’re right because they’ve been given a great deal of the things they need in life without having to work very hard for them. I’m not going to lie and pretend I’m not jealous to certain degree either. They can talk about how much money they’re spending all they want with each other, but once they start the who-can-spend-the-most competition and dragging others into it, it becomes a problem. You also have to understand that some of my thoughts weren’t entirely cogent, since I wrote it completely off the cuff, and was in a bad mood overall. Like I said, bad moods make for bad posts, haha.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

