“Tumblr You Are Hungover”

I recently got a tumblr (betrayal!). I had told myself long, long ago that I would never get one, and I still am not sure why I did. Maybe it was because my roommate has a particularly spectacular Benedict Cumberbatch worship blog, which ironically spawned the inspiration for this post. We’ll get to that later.

I find myself in a very love/hate relationship with tumblr. I’ll be honest, it makes me think of Myspace, with all its glitter and glam and personalization of backgrounds and layout. I understand people want to “express themselves,” but is making your “Home” button impossible to find and in miniscule type the way to do that? Many times I’ve been redirected to a single post, then wanted to see what else this potential master of humor had on his or her blog, but was unable to navigate my way to their blogroll. Yes, I suppose I could just delete the entry URL designation and be taken to the homepage, but let’s be honest, I’m just too lazy. I’d rather just click a button, and when I can’t find that button, you’ve lost a potential follower.

Maybe I’m just a stickler for clean lines and simplicity on the internet. Which is a funny thing to say really… But honestly, why can’t all the funny .gif-based tumblrs look like THIS? If you haven’t seen whatshouldwecallme, then you’ve been living under an internet rock. So many awesome spin-offs, the majority of which make me at least chortle in appreciation. Surriously, why can’t I be that clever? Or have any idea how to make a .gif? Why am I even living in this century?

I’ve always kind of felt like my technological knowledge was above-average, but not nearly as advanced as other kids (ha. ha. I’m getting old.) my age. I fall somewhere between my mother, who uses her computer for email and Word, and my father, who builds digital fire models to conduct theoretical experiments. What.

I”m straying a bit from the topic of this post, which was supposed to be tumblr. Unfortunately, I find tumblr infested with the kinds of people (*cough*children*cough*) that make it difficult to wade through all the crap to get to some quality stuff. I don’t have a disdain for people who use tumblr, but I do think there’s a large preponderance of useless bullshit, that I couldn’t care less about. It’s good for a laugh, but as a true, serious blogging site, it’s kind of crap. Visually, I prefer Pinterest FAR more (though I know some tumblrs who would cry FOR SHAME). Textually I obviously enjoy WordPress. And as a social network… come on, Facebook is still a thing, let’s keep using it, despite the privacy issues, because I guarantee tumblr has worse ones.

But now to address the title of this post and really underscore how silly tumblr really is. Case in point:

Behold

Behold

This picture of a fine-looking grilled cheese sandwich and hearty tomato soup was posted on my aforementioned roommate’s blog. Having a solid number of followers, this lovely picture was reblogged (or liked)… 127 times. WHAT. Hence “Tumblr, you are hungover” uttered from said roommate.

Seriously guys? It’s fucking grilled cheese. What are you smoking that makes this worthy of being reblogged? It was put out there as a joke, and you turned it into something to be actually considered. You aren’t funny, and I think you’re missing the point of irony as soundly as the average hipster.

I should probably reel in the hostility a bit…

I’m not a fan of tumblr. If you want to check mine out, feel free. It’s a lot of Benedict Cumberbatch, Harry Potter, and nerdy videogame stuff. Have fun. Be ready for another post HERE however, in the near future.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Impybat

     /  January 1, 2013

    I got tumblr so I could geek out on Downton Abbey more easily.

    Reply
  1. Version 5.0 | www.MarkMushakian.com

Leave a Reply

